Home > coding, git, java, maven, opinion > JBoss Undertow is pulling me in … :o)

JBoss Undertow is pulling me in … :o)

I am very impressed as I am trying out the various code examples for Undertow, a kick-ass, light-weight yet powerful, ultra-easy-to-embed HTTP and Java Servlet engine.

One of my side projects requires an embeddable yet feature-complete Java HTTP engine with low memory footprint and a simple straightforward API. I dismissed Tomcat, briefly considered Jetty, found Winstone too old and unmaintained, simpleframework not well-enough documented, vert.x and netty a little too much for my purposes and/or too complicated, so that a few weeks ago I had actually started to clone and refactor NanoHttpd.

The NanoHttpd refactoring was a great learning experience, but it certainly felt like I was reinventing the wheel in the form of a cute and mobile but slightly rusty foldable unicycle. ;o) – no offense please, nanohttpd developers

Then I found out about Undertow. The author Stuart Douglas is now officially my hero. What an awesome job he is doing! The server meets all of the above mentioned requirements and is apparently also comparatively fast. No wonder it is the HTTP engine used by Wildfly, the new JBoss AS.

Anyway, if you want to try yourself, I’d go with version 1.1 final at this time, i.e. this in your Maven pom.xml:

<dependency>
    <groupId>io.undertow</groupId>
    <artifactId>undertow-core</artifactId>
    <version>1.1.0.Final</version>
</dependency>

I decided to pretty much ignore the documentation section of the undertow.io website for now, as it is still for version 1.0 and the API has changed – improved, I guess – since then. It seems to me, that at this point the core code itself and the usage examples are the best documentation for version 1.1. Both are Maven modules of the undertow github project.

By the way, if you are wondering why the project has no issues section on github: The issue tracking is done in the JBoss Jira.

  1. March 19, 2015 at 17:04

    And now I just realized that bayou.io is also very interesting: http://bayou.io/intro.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

