Home > java, jenkins, maven > Jenkins Maven builds on OpenShift

Jenkins Maven builds on OpenShift

Short version: If you want proper Maven builds with Jenkins on OpenShift, please vote for change request JENKINS-19844.

Full story:

Today I installed Jenkins on my OpenShift account to use it as Maven release build server for some of my Java based github projects. I ran into various obstacles and partially misleading information.

Installing the Jenkins “cartridge” on the OpenShift web console was the easiest part.

Then I logged into my new Jenkins using the auto-generated “admin” login. I created a “New Item” to “Build a maven2/3 project”, i.e. a new Maven build job, and configured it: Selected “Git” SCM and pasted the github URL of the project I want to build.

At first all “Build Now” attempts failed silently, until I realized I had to go into “Manage Jenkins” – “Configure System” page to change the “# of executors” from 0 to 1.

Next thing was that the Maven installation was not found. I set up ssh access to my OpenShift Jenkins (paste contents of ~/.ssh/id_rsa.pub from my Linux laptop into web console, then find the ssh hostname to connect) and ran a “find -name mvn /usr” on the host which located a Maven installation at /usr/share/java/apache-maven-3.0.4. I entered this in the “Maven installation” section on the Jenkins “Configure System” page.

Now I got at least some “Console output” when I clicked “Build Now” and navigated to the page of that build. The next error, however, has so far been a blocker for me. It is described here and seems to be a limitation of the Maven agent binding address in Jenkins.

I found several blogs recommending the “free-style” Jenkins job type as a workaround, instead of “maven2/3 project”. But that has many limitations and is not an acceptable solution for me.

Finally I noticed that the issue has already been reported in 2013 as JENKINS-19844 “Maven agent socket bind too inflexible (allow Jenkins in virtualized environment)”, but was closed by mistake due to a mix-up of JIRA issue numbers (19844 vs 19884).

I used my account at jenkins-ci.org and reopened the Jenkins issue. Now I can only hope that someone from Jenkins committers team will care enough about this and apply the suggested code changes. Then we have to wait until OpenShift provides a Jenkins version that contains the fix.

Additional Note: I also read about other issues with Maven on OpenShift, e.g. Jenkins having no write access to ~/.m2/repository. I could not verify those problems but they seem to be fixable in ~/.m2/settings.xml, using $OPENSHIFT_DATA_DIR. Via ssh, I was able to create and edit ~/.m2/settings.xml.

Categories: java, jenkins, maven Tags: ,
  1. September 24, 2014 at 08:31

    Looks like the OpenShift folks liked my post and reshared it on Google+ … Cool stuff. :o)

  2. May 19, 2015 at 14:17

    I bumped into the same issue and decided to go ahead and fix this. What I ended up doing was forking the `maven-plugin` for Jenkins (so no need to reinstall the whole of Jenkins) and applied the fix suggested in the bug but with small adjustments for environment variable retrieval. You should be able to just pull the fork, build and reinstall the plugin to get this addressed.

    • June 11, 2015 at 21:10

      Thanks a lot! Can you let me know once the LTS version of Jenkins contains this fix?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

